PBHS seniors receive awards at graduation

Staff writer

Twenty-nine Peabody-Burns High School seniors became the graduating class of 2008 Sunday afternoon.

The commencement exercises were held at 4 p.m. at the Brown gymnasium, and opened with the processional played by the PBHS high school band.

The band also performed "Rivercrest Overture" as the recessional.

Another special music selection, "Like an Eagle," was performed by Voices, a high school vocal music group.

Duane Unruh and Ethan Riggs were recognized by the Kansas Board of Regents as Kansas Board of Regents Curriculum Completers.

Riggs also was designated as a state scholar.

Certificates were presented to the pair by PBHS principal Tim Robertson.

Robertson presented Erica Frederick and Ryan Wiebe KSHSAA Citizenship Awards.

Robertson introduced Adam Benson as salutatorian and Duane Unruh as valedictorian.

Both Benson and Unruh addressed the class.

Robertson also presented Samantha Pickens the Faculty-Staff Community Service Award.

Alisa Holm-McDowell, Preston Hodges, Arlen Busenitz, and Tony Zappone presented various awards and scholarships to current and recent graduates.

Superintendent Rex Watson accepted the class, and board members Duke Eldridge and Rhonda Loucks presented diplomas.

Recipients of scholarships are as follows:

Alumni Awards - Andrew Loucks, $500; Adam Benson, $1,000.

George E. Trimble Award - Duane Unruh, $1,000; Jessica Gillet, $500.

Letha Eberle Award - Rebecca Morris, $1,000; Tabitha O'Neal, $500.

Class of '55 Award - Ethan Riggs, $500; Ryan Wiebe, $500.

Class of '48 award - Erica Frederick, $800.

Edna Ewert Award - Jessica Gillet, $500.

Robert Phillips Jr. Award - Andrew Loucks, $150; Rebecca Morris, $150.

Alumni Dance Award - Rebecca Morris, $400.

George Holm Memorial Award - Rebecca Morris.

Burns Lions Club Award - Andrew Loucks, $500.

FFA Awards - Jessica Gillet, Duane Unruh, Derek Benson, Ben Jantzen, Leann Spinden, and Jason Unruh, $500 each.

Barrett Memorial Award - Tabitha O'Neal, $500.

Masonic Award/Randy Farr Memorial Award - Rebecca Morris, $200.

Fitch Memorial Award - Erica Frederick and Jessica Gillet, $400.

Hart Award - Ethan Riggs, $800.

Fred & Teresa Burdorf Award - Ryan Wiebe, $500.

Jensen Award - Marissa Jantz, $1,000; Andrew Loucks, $500.

Mary Josephine McCreary Memorial Award - Duane Unruh, $1,200; Adam Benson, $800; Tabitha O'Neal, $300; Andrew Topham, $400; Kate Topham, $400; Jason Unruh, $400.