Major elections in 2008 years ago

Candidates must file by Jan. 22 for April election

This coming year is an important year for elections.

The November elections will include the election for two Marion County Commissioners, district two and district three, held by Dan Holub and Randy Dallke, respectively; Marion County Attorney, held by Susan Robson; Marion County Clerk, held by Carol Maggard; Marion County Treasurer, held by Jeannine Bateman; Marion County Register of Deeds, held by appointee Jo Ottensmeier; and Marion County Sheriff, held by Lee Becker.

Elections will include township trustees, treasurers, and precinct committeemen.

Eastshore Improvement District and Marion County Lake Improvement District improvement districts will elect three board members each.

Two Hillsboro City Council seats also will be up for election in ward one and two. Those positions currently are held by Shelby Dirks and Byron McCarty. Those elected will serve two-year terms.

Marion City Council will have two vacancies — the seats currently held by Bill Holdeman and Jerry Kline. The newly-elected or incumbent councilmen then will serve four-year terms.

City elections will be held April 8 with the deadline for filing being noon Jan. 22.

Federal and state positions also will be up for election in November that include the U.S. President and vice president (currently held by George W. Bush and Dick Cheney), U.S. Senator (Pat Roberts), U.S. Representative of District 1 (Jerry Moran), State Senator District #17 (Jim Barnett), State Senator District #35 (Jay Emler), and State Representative District #70 (Don Dahl).

The deadline for filing for the general election is June 10.