Award recipients recognized at annual FFA banquet

Peabody-Burns FFA chapter hosted its annual banquet April 19 at the high school.

State FFA secretary Kyle Essley spoke to the group about choices. Essley, from the Riverton FFA chapter, attends Kansas State University where he is majoring in general agriculture.

The Star Greenhand Degree was presented to Trevor Foth.

Recipients of the Greenhand degree were Foth, Spencer Moffett, Josh Klarmann, Andrew Sheffler, Daulton Teaford, Dustin Miller, Heather Brooks, Luke Dougles, and Derek Schmidt.

The Star Chapter Farmer Degree was presented to Duane Unruh. Christopher Brooks was named the Star Agribusinessman.

Chapter Farmer degrees were awarded to Curtis Frederick, Brandon Grimes, Brandon Pickens, Heather Shipley, and Tyler Slater.

Honorary chapter membership was presented to Neysa Eberhard, Jon Gillet, and Harlin Unruh.

Officers for the 2008-09 year were introduced: Christopher Brooks, president; Bayleigh Clark, vice president; Stephanie Rempel, secretary; Grant Buller, treasurer; Joe Zappone, sentinel; Derek Schmidt, reporter; Dustin Miller, parliamentarian; and Spencer Moffett, historian.

Adviser Steven Thorburn was unable to attend the banquet. Harlin Unruh filled in as adviser.