• Last modified 3188 days ago (Dec. 2, 2010)


Tomahawks begin season with wins

Staff writer

The Peabody-Burns Junior High School Tomahawks basketball squad put two in the win column before the holiday break. They defeated Hope in the home opener Nov. 18, 38-31, and then beat Centre at Centre on Nov. 22, 43-28. Next up for the team is match-up Thursday in Goessel.


Offense from both squads in the first quarter was even. Braxton Kyle and Vince Newman each had a basket in the first period. Brooks Hodges added a free throw. Hope scored seven and had the two-point edge at the buzzer, 7-5.

PBJHS offense exploded in the second quarter, scoring 21 points. Kevin Baatrup led the team with seven points. Brent Buller and Newman each had five. Brady Logan added a basket and Hodges had two free throws. Tomahawks defense held Hope to four points and PBJHS led, 26-11, at the half.

Scoring slowed in the third for the PBJHS squad. Buller, Hodges, and Newman each had a basket. Hope added 11 points in the quarter. The Tomahawk lead was cut to 10, 32-22, at the end of the period.

Despite a 9-6 edge that went to Hope in the fourth quarter, PBJHS held on for a 38-31 victory. Kyle, Hodges, and Austin Hiebert each had two points in the final quarter.


Newman, 9; Hodges, 7; Buller, 7; Baatrup, 7; Kyle, 4; Logan, 2; and Hiebert, 2.


Tomahawk defense held Centre to one point in the first quarter. PBJHS offense scored nine and led, 9-1, at the end of the period. Kyle had four points; Hodges added a trey and Newman recorded a 2-point basket in the quarter.

Centre offense outscored PBJHS in the second, 12-8. Kyle, Nicholas Preheim, Hiebert, and Newman each had 2-point baskets. PBJHS had the lead at halftime, 17-13.

Tomahawk offense sailed through the second half, scoring 26 points. Centre added 15 in the last half of the contest. PBJHS defeated Centre, 43-28. Kaden Gibson led second-half scoring with five points. Buller, Kyle, and Newman each added four. Logan had a trey and Hodges, Preheim, and Baatrup each scored two.


Kyle, 10; Newman, 8; Hodges, 5; Gibson, 5; Buller, 4; Preheim, 4; Logan, 3; Baatrup, 2; and Hiebert, 2.

Last modified Dec. 2, 2010