• Last modified 771 days ago (June 9, 2022)


Students honored for recreation, nursery projects

Two Marion County FFA students received statewide recognition last week for their supervised agricultural experience programs.

Mickelly Soyez of Marion received a proficiency award in outdoor recreation, and Riley Graber of Goessel received a proficiency award in nursery operations.

Mickelly’s award honors her work at Country Dreams Bed and Breakfast, where she maintained a pond, docks, boats, walking trails, hunting stands, and game cameras and ensured that all water and hunting equipment was up to safety standards. She also worked with guests and hunters to track game.

A daughter of Michel and Sherry Soyez, she plans to attend Cottey College in Missouri, seek a physical therapy degree, and continuing her tracking business, hoping to run her own agritourism business.

Riley owns and operates Potted Paradise, for which she grows several varieties of succulents, house plants, and other rare plants.

She buys cuttings and nodes, plants them, and waits for roots. Once they are rooted, she creates succulent arrangements using principles of design. She then markets her products on multiple platforms.

Her parents are Justin and Kristie Graber. She plans to obtain an associate’s degree and grow her plant business.

The awards were presented during the 94th Kansas FFA Convention, which ended Friday in Manhattan.

At the convention, Mickelly was joined by Quinten Bina and Tanner Stuchlik of Centre in receiving state FFA degrees, the highest honor the state association bestows.

Recipients must have been FFA members and agricultural education students for at least two years, earned at least $2,000 or worked 600 hours in a supervised agricultural experience program, give a six-minute talk about agriculture or FFA, participated in eight different leadership activities, received a C average or better in high school, and shown a record of outstanding leadership and community involvement.

Tanner also was named Star Farmer for the south-central district of the state.

Last modified June 9, 2022