• Last modified 2734 days ago (Sept. 29, 2011)


New club year begins for Sorosis Beta group

Peabody Sorosis Beta club met for the first meeting of 2011-12 on Sept. 15. Because of cool weather, the meeting was held in the Peabody United Methodist Church basement.

There were 11 members, 8 spouses, and 7 guests present. The hostesses for the meeting were the executive committee of Diane Glaser, Sonja Koslowsky, Katherine Ragland, and Marquetta Eilerts.

David Ragland gave an opening prayer. The group shared a meal of fried chicken, salads, and desserts. Marion Rowland won the men’s door prize and Lea Schwart won the women’s door prize.

President Diane Glaser read the Sorosis Beta pledge, followed by two poems about fall, and called the business meeting to order. Marquetta Eilerts thanked the members for the flowers and prayers while she was in the hospital and recuperating.

Discussion was held concerning choice of trees for the Community Improvement Project for which the club received a grant from the Peabody Foundation to plant trees at the city park. The Community Improvement committee was authorized to proceed with the project.

Sonja reviewed the program books for the 2011-12 club year. The meeting adjourned with the club collect.

The next meeting will be at 7 p.m., Oct. 10 at Jackrabbit Hollow, with Lea Swart and Lou Ann Gray as co-hostesses.

Last modified Sept. 29, 2011