• Last modified 1191 days ago (May 19, 2016)


Lift up your head and shout, 'We're out!'

Staff writer

Twenty-six Peabody-Burns seniors reached a milestone Sunday when they received their diplomas and joined 135 years of high school graduates from the Peabody and Burns communities.

The ceremony included the traditional processional and recessional march, special music selections by Voices and PBHS band members, and addresses by valedictorian Katelyn Benson and salutatorian Brandon Entz.

Kansas State High School Activities Association Citizenship Awards were presented to Benson and Entz, and Entz also received the Dale Dennis Excellence Award.

Benson received a Kansas State Scholar award, and Kansas State Curriculum Completers Awards were presented to Benson, Entz, Stephanie Lewis, April Newfield, and Cody Partridge.

PBHS principal Ken Parry presented Alumni Association Awards to Genaka Menjivar and six alums — Christa Elliott, Braxton Kyle, Rylie McDowell, Austin Savage, Seth Topham, and Mackenzie Young.

Additional alumni awards from specific individuals and groups were presented as follows: George Trimble Estate to Newfield; Letha Eberle Scholarship Fund to Cody Navrat; Mary Josephine McCreary Memorial Awards to Benson and Entz; Masonic Award to Entz; Class of 1955 Award to Lillian Partridge; Class of 2015 Award to Joshua Morgan; and a Monsanto award and Agriculture Future of America Scholarship to Entz.

Students selected by USD 398 Board of Education were presented the following awards by board member Shayla Clark: Barrett/Burdorf Award to Lillian Partridge; Hart/Peabody Masonic Award to Navrat; Jensen/Marion Cubbage Memorial to Morgan, Randy Farr/Jeanetta Farr Memorial to Benson and Newfield; Fitch Memorial to Menjivar; and Litton/Kliewer Award to Entz and Morgan.

Award and scholarship recipients selected by donors were: Sharlene Brooks Award to Newfield; FFA Alumni Scholarship to Entz and Morgan; Marion County Fire Fighters Scholarship to Benson; Robert E. Phillips, Jr. Award to Menjivar and Lillian Partridge; Alumni Dance Award to Benson and Cody Partridge; George Holm Memorial Award to Benson; and Canton Post 192 American Legion Riders Award to Entz.

Peabody-Burns students received just under $22,000 in financial awards at the ceremony.

Last modified May 19, 2016