• Last modified 2213 days ago (June 26, 2013)


County students graduate, earn honors

With the spring semester ending and summer here, schools are releasing news of achievement by college and high school students.

Kansas State University

Twenty-two Marion County students earned spring semester honors:

Florence: Jaclyn Deforest.

Hillsboro: Aaron Klassen, Bryant Miller, Alex Nuss, and Candace Weinbrenner.

Lehigh: Neal Kaiser.

Lincolnville: Taylor Harms.

Marion: Samuel Ehrlich, Patrick Hodson, Louis Holt, Tristan Snelling, Derek Stuchlik, Eric Vogel, and Julia Zeiner.

Peabody: Alexandra Holm-McDowell, Broderick Kyle, Seth Methvin, Derrick Till, Courtney Traxson, and Joseph Zappone.

Tampa: Matthew Klenda.

Hutchinson Community College

Rick Boaldin of Marion, Kathryn Ens and Wendy McCarty of Hillsboro, and Lacy Spaulding of Peabody were named to the Hutchinson Community College President’s Honor Roll for the spring semester, each achieving a 4.0 grade point average.

McPherson College

Four Marion County students were named to spring honor roll at McPherson College:

Goessel: Matthew Richards.

Hillsboro: Karis Janzen.

Marion: Ashley Evans.

There also was one honorable mention selection:

Hillsboro: Tiffany Rooker.

Manchester University

Kristen Hoffman of Hillsboro made the dean’s list at Manchester University in Indiana. Hoffman is a graduate of Goessel High School and a senior sociology major.

University of Kansas

Maggie Powers of Marion received a master’s degree in occupational therapy May 17 from the University of Kansas.

She has accepted employment in Topeka and will begin practice there in July.

Her parents are Michael and Judy Powers.

Fort Hays State University

Luke Taylor Gordon and Chelsi Lynn Koehn of Marion received degrees from Fort Hays State University. Gordon received a bachelor’s degree in business administration. Koehn received a bachelor’s degree of general studies.

Centre High School

Centre High School senior Kevin Lewis attended Boys State June 9 to 15 at Kansas State University in Manhattan.

During the weeklong mock-government and leadership exercises, Lewis played the role of someone in the Department of Justice.

In addition to mock government, participants heard from speakers, including keynote speaker Zach Wahls, an author and national speaker. Others included appellate court judge Joe Pierron, University of Kansas student body president Marcus Tetwiler, past Kansas State University student body president Nathan Spriggs, and state Rep. Susan Concannon.

Justin Deines, a graduate of Centre High School, won a $1,000 scholarship from the National FFA Foundation. Deines plans to attend Bethany College in Lindsborg.

Last modified June 26, 2013