• Last modified 662 days ago (Aug. 3, 2022)


County rejects Barker, favors amendment

Staff writer

Voting contrary to statewide trends, Marion County voters opted in Tuesday’s election to support a constitutional amendment that would give legislators instead of courts control over the legality of abortion.

The vote on the so-called “Value Them Both” proposed amendment was overwhelmingly in favor in Marion County, but statewide the proposed constitutional amendment lost in a landslide vote.

In the county, voters cast 2,517 “yes” votes and 1,652 “no” votes — a 60-40 margin in favor. Statewide, results were reversed — 60-40 opposed.

“Yes” votes carried every county precinct except Marion North and South, Peabody East and West, and Florence Two. The vote was tied in West Branch.

Locally, the overall race for District 70 state representative in the northern and eastern portion of Marion County remained too close to call.

In Marion County, incumbent John Barker earned 615 votes to challenger Scott Hill’s 741 votes. Hill carried every precinct in his district except Summit.

However, results from two townships in McPherson County and the bulk of the district, in Dickinson County, were not avaiable at midnight.

No Democratic candidate has filed, so the winner of the Republican primary is likely to be elected in November.

Incumbent Stephen Owens, the only candidate running for District 74 state legislator, brought home in the southwestern portion of the county.

McPherson barber Luke Aichele, running for state board of education, receive 1,532 votes in the county to incumbent former school administrator Jim Porter’s 944.

No Democratic candidate filed.

In uncontested local elections, county commissioner Kent Becker got 534 votes; David Crofoot got 620 votes; and Jonah Gehring got 591 votes.

Jeff Soyez, interim sheriff, garnered 2,843 votes. He also ran unopposed to fill the unexpired term of the late Robert Craft.

The Liberty Township clerk seat was handily won by Charles Loewen, with 104 votes to Louis Simmonds’ 9 votes.

In races for Republican precinct committeeman, Grant Township was won by Mark Harms with 33 votes over Joel Womochil’s nine.

Former state representative Robert Brookens retained his position as Marion South precinct committeeman with 129 votes over challenger Jeremy Ensey’s 103 votes.

In county voting for statewide races, incumbent Jerry Moran, one of two Republicans for U.S. Senate, won by a landslide over challenger Joan Farr.

On the Democratic ballot, Robert Klingenberg gathered 130 votes; Mark Holland took 113; Mike Andra got 89 votes; Paul Buskirk got 88 votes; Patrick Weisner gathered 61 votes; and Michael Soetaert brought home 35 votes.

In the race for governor and lieutenant governor, Democratic incumbents Laura Kelly and David Toland handily whipped Richard Karnowski and Barry Fanco, 565 to 46.

On the Republican side, Derrick Schmidt and Katie Sawyer beat Arlyn Briggs and Lance Berland by a landslide of 2,487 to 493.

Republican secretary of state candidate Scott Schwab gathered 1,722 votes in the county to Mike Brown’s 1,105.

In the race for Kansas attorney general, Republican Kris Kobach one-upped Kellie Warren 1,304 to 1,113 in the county. Tony Mattivi, also a Republican, received 616 votes.

Republican state treasurer candidate Caryn Tyson got 1,071 votes in the county to Steven Johnson’s 1,729.

Last modified Aug. 3, 2022